SchoolMatchEuropeAdd your school
Menu
Photo credit

Image: Image source ↗ · Photographed 2010-08-17. Historical campus view; the site may have changed. · Teach46 · CC BY 3.0 · Resized and converted to WebP; no generative edits.

Durham School Fees 2026/27: £7,355–£8,048 a term · Day · Years 7–8 day / Years 9–13 day

Fees checked 2026-09-28
Tuition 2026/2027£7,355–8,048Fee per term (day places)Known first-year costs£25,465New Year 12 Senior day pupil; British-national standard category; no Peter Lee Scholarship application · day · known costs onlyCurriculumGCSE · A Levels · BTECLanguage & boardingEnglishBoarding available

Fees 2026/2027

Durham School fees for 2026/27 are £7,355 for Years 7–8 day; £8,048 for Years 9–13 day a term. Years 7–8 full boarding: £15,510 a term. School confirms three termly payments of the annual fee; standard Years 7–8 day tuition totals £22,065 for three terms, excluding compulsory £332-per-term lunch.

£7,355–8,048

Fee per term (day places)

School year2026/2027

Source checked2026-09-28

Grade & inclusionsSee the source-linked details below

2026/2027 · Fee per term
Stage / provisionFee per term
Years 7–8 day£7,355
Years 9–13 day£8,048
Years 7–8 weekly boarding£13,342
Years 9–13 weekly boarding£16,263
Years 7–8 full boarding£15,510
Years 9–13 full boarding£18,225

Official 2026/27 per-term GBP rates. School confirms three termly payments of the annual fee; standard Years 7–8 day tuition totals £22,065 for three terms, excluding compulsory £332-per-term lunch. Overseas rates and extras differ.

The school publishes £7,355 per term for a standard Years 7–8 day pupil in 2026/27 and states that the annual fee is divided into three termly sums: £22,065 tuition for three terms. Compulsory lunch adds £332 per term (£996 for three terms). Overseas, boarding and other year groups have different rates; no EUR conversion is made.

School fee source ↗ · checked

Compare boarding fees in the UK

The known first-year cost at Durham School for a New Year 12 Senior ; British-national standard category; no Peter Lee Scholarship application day pupil is £25,465 in 2026/27: £24,144 tuition, a £75 registration fee, a £996 lunch and a £250 enrolment deposit.

First-year cost 2026/27

£25,465

Known costs for a New Year 12 Senior ; British-national standard category; no Peter Lee Scholarship application day pupil

Tuition
£24,144
Registration fee · one-off
£75
Lunch · yearly
£996
Enrolment deposit · refundable
£250
From year 2£25,140 a year

Not included: trips, exams, transport (amounts or applicability not fully confirmed).

Fee sources, checked 5 Nov 2026
  • Tuition £24,144 per academic year → Source ↗ ·

    Paid in three termly instalments of £8,048.

  • Registration fee £75 one-off → Source ↗ ·

    This payment is non-refundable.

  • Lunch £996 per academic year → Source ↗ ·

    Paid in three termly instalments of £332.

  • Enrolment deposit £250 one-off → Source ↗ · Refund or credit terms ↗ ·

    Refund or credit is subject to the school’s conditions.

  • From year 2 → Source ↗ ·

    Second-year figures use the same published rates; future school-year fees may change.

Ask the school to confirm these costs

Key facts

School stagesDurham School provides education for ages eleven to eighteen within Durham Cathedral Schools Foundation.
Ages11–18 years
QualificationsGCSE, A Levels, BTEC
Teaching languageEnglish
BoardingBoarding available
AddressQuarryheads Lane, DH1 4SZ

Admissions & entry points

Entry and international boardingBoarding applications are considered from Year 7 (age 11) through Sixth Form.

Entry and international boarding

Boarding applications are considered from Year 7 (age 11) through Sixth Form. The school sets Sixth Form entry criteria of five GCSEs at grade 6, with English Language and Mathematics at grade 4, and an IELTS threshold for international Sixth Form entry. Candidates from another curriculum need equivalent qualifications. Confirm the year group, assessment, visa and guardianship requirements with the school.

Source ↗ · checked

English-language and pastoral support

The school explicitly says that all lessons are delivered in English. New overseas pupils whose first language is not English are assessed by the International Pupils Department for EAL support. The department describes intensive English help and guidance for adjustment to life in England; the boarding house and tutor system provide pastoral support. Confirm an individual support plan and any charges.

Source ↗ · checked

Learning & qualifications

About Durham SchoolDurham School provides education for ages eleven to eighteen within Durham Cathedral Schools Foundation.Sources reviewed 14 September 2026 GC…

About Durham School

Durham School provides education for ages eleven to eighteen within Durham Cathedral Schools Foundation.

Sources reviewed 14 September 2026

GCSE, A-level and BTEC routes

Durham School, rather than the separate Chorister School, serves ages 11–18. Its Years 10–11 programme leads to GCSEs. The Sixth Form offers A levels and BTEC Nationals, with an EPQ option; international pupils may use a one-year GCSE route before A-level study. Check the current subject combinations and entry requirements for the intended course.

Source ↗ · checked

Support, school day & campus

Durham School campus and boardingDurham School is at Quarryheads Lane; Chorister School at The College is a separate school.

Durham School campus and boarding

Durham School is at Quarryheads Lane; Chorister School at The College is a separate school. The school offers day, weekly, full and limited flexi boarding for Years 7–13. Check which residence and attendance pattern is available for the pupil, and plan holidays, travel and guardianship separately for international boarding.

Source ↗ · checked

School address

The school publishes this contact address: Quarryheads Lane, DH1 4SZ.

Source ↗ · checked

International deposits and return conditions

The current fee page requires international pupils to pay a full term’s fees as a deposit as well as the first term’s fees, except that stays shorter than six months have a £500 deposit. The August 2026 terms provide for deposits to be held and returned after departure subject to outstanding amounts and specified exceptions. If an accepted place is not taken up, the school may retain an amount reflecting its reasonable loss and administration costs. Expulsion or required removal has a separate non-return rule.

Source ↗ · checked

Notice before leaving or reducing boarding

The August 2026 terms require a full term’s written notice for departure, cancellation before starting, stopping a chargeable activity, or changing from boarding to day or full to weekly boarding. Missing notice can bring a term’s fees, an activity charge or the boarding-fee difference instead. Notice given after the first day of a term can leave both that term and the following term payable. Parents are advised to obtain written acknowledgement; email notice is treated as received when the school acknowledges it.

Source ↗ · checked

Conditional family and employment discounts

The current fee page gives concurrent sibling reductions of 5% for the second child, 10% for the third and 15% for the fourth and later children. It also describes Armed Forces reductions of 10% through Year 8 and 20% for Years 9–13 before the CEA boarding allowance, a 10% clergy reduction, and a 10% reduction on new applications for children of Cathedral or Durham University staff. Eligibility and how any offers interact must be confirmed with admissions; no universal discounted fee is calculated.

Source ↗ · checked

First-year budget & additional costs

Separate overseas-pupil tariffs2026/27 · Fee per term including VATYears 7–8 overseas day pupil, lunch separate£7,984Years 9–13 overseas day pupil, lunch separa…

Separate overseas-pupil tariffs

2026/27 · Fee per term including VAT
Years 7–8 overseas day pupil, lunch separate£7,984
Years 9–13 overseas day pupil, lunch separate£8,655
Years 7–8 overseas weekly boarder£14,482
Years 9–13 overseas weekly boarder£17,490
Years 7–8 overseas full boarder£16,834
Years 9–13 overseas full boarder£19,601

These directly quoted overseas categories are alternatives to the standard domestic categories in the main table. Ask admissions which payer category applies. The published day-pupil rows exclude compulsory lunch; no annual overseas total, exchange conversion or family-specific budget is inferred.

Source ↗ · checked

Compulsory day-pupil lunch

2026/27 · Lunch charge per term
Day pupil lunch£332

The 2026/27 table shows day-pupil tuition plus lunch, and the footnote makes the lunch charge compulsory. The table is headed VAT-inclusive; the lunch footnote does not give a separate VAT rate. This amount is separate from the quoted day tuition, not an optional lunch allowance.

Source ↗ · checked

Two-night flexi-boarding offer

2026/27 · Price for the two-night package including VAT
Years 7–13 during term time, subject to prior booking£120

The detailed terms allow the two nights to be used within two weeks of the first flexi evening. Unused nights then expire without a refund or transfer. The offer cannot be used consecutively to create a four-night stay; repeating it requires prior Finance Team agreement. Full payment is due when booking, and places are subject to availability. No per-night, weekly or termly price is derived.

Source ↗ · checked

Non-returnable application payments

Current application charges; academic year not separately stated (checked 2026-11-02) · Application or registration payment
Standard application£75
Peter Lee Scholarship candidate registration£100

Payment does not guarantee a place. The page treats these as different application routes; it does not say to add both for the same application. The application subsection does not give a separate academic year or say whether these charges include VAT.

Source ↗ · checked

Fixed acceptance-deposit categories

Current acceptance-deposit quotations; academic year not separately stated (checked 2026-11-02) · Deposit paid when a definite place is accepted
British national, day pupil£250
British national, boarder£500
International pupil staying for less than six months£500

Other international pupils are quoted a full term’s fees as their deposit, in addition to the first term’s fees. Deposit returns are governed by the school’s current terms, including set-off and retention conditions; they are not guaranteed unconditional refunds. The deposit subsection does not give a separate academic year or say whether VAT is included.

Source ↗ · checked

International compliance charge

Current compliance charge; academic year not separately stated (checked 2026-11-02) · Amount deducted from the deposit
Compliance management for international-student sponsorship£480

The current fee page says the compliance-management charge is deducted from the deposit. It should not also be added as a second upfront payment on top of the same deposit. The charge has no separate academic year; ask whether VAT is included.

Source ↗ · checked

2026/27 fees with a confirmed three-term schedule

The school publishes £7,355 per term for a standard Years 7–8 day pupil in 2026/27. Its fee page says the annual charge is normally divided into three termly payments, so the three-term tuition is £22,065. Compulsory day lunch is another £332 per term, or £996 for three terms. Overseas pupil, boarding and older-stage rates differ; application fees, deposits and extras are separate. These GBP amounts are not converted into euros.

Source ↗ · checked

Payment arrangements and chargeable extras

The fee page says an annual fee is normally collected as three termly sums and offers twelve monthly variable-direct-debit instalments. The August 2026 terms require new joiners to pay by direct debit, with monthly, termly or annual arrangements; monthly instalments fall on the first business day. Public examination charges and additional provision for special educational needs are supplemental. Other agreed extras can include private music, trips and visits, so the tuition table is not a complete budget.

Source ↗ · checked

Location

Durham School

Quarryheads Lane, DH1 4SZ, Durham, United Kingdom

Parents also ask

How much are Durham School fees?

Durham School fees for 2026/27 are £7,355 for Years 7–8 day; £8,048 for Years 9–13 day a term. Years 7–8 full boarding: £15,510 a term. School confirms three termly payments of the annual fee; standard Years 7–8 day tuition totals £22,065 for three terms, excluding compulsory £332-per-term lunch.

School fee source ↗ · checked

Compare boarding fees in the UK

Are lunches included in the fees?

Compulsory lunch adds £332 per term (£996 for three terms).

School fee source ↗ · checked

Compare boarding fees in the UK

How much does the first year at Durham School cost?

The known first-year cost at Durham School for a New Year 12 Senior ; British-national standard category; no Peter Lee Scholarship application day pupil is £25,465 in 2026/27: £24,144 tuition, a £75 registration fee, a £996 lunch and a £250 enrolment deposit. Trips, exams and transport are not included.

School fee source ↗ · checked

Compare boarding fees in the UK

Sources & field verification dates

Sources and dates appear beside each detail above. School-reported information may change; confirm the offer for your child.

https://www.dcsf.org.uk/

https://www.dcsf.org.uk/admissions/fees/

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Durham_School_from_the_road.jpg

https://www.dcsf.org.uk/sixth-form-16-18/

https://www.dcsf.org.uk/international-admissions/eal-support/

https://www.dcsf.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/DCSF-Terms-and-Conditions-Revised-1-Copy.pdf

Compare published school fees across Europe

Ask this school a question

You can also contact the school through its official website.

How we handle your enquiry